Parliament Received Delegation of Strovolos city, Cyprus
27 September 2019

September 27, Ashot Ghoulyan received a delegation of the Strovolos City, Republic of Cyprus, headed by Mayor Andreas Papakharalampus. The delegation in Artsakh was accompanied by the Chairman of the Armenian National Committee of Europe (ANCA) Gaspar Karapetyan, Chairman of the Armenian National Committee of Cyprus (ANCA) Hakob Gazanjian and member of the ARF Dashnaktsutyun Committee in Cyprus Raffi Mahtessian.

Welcoming the guests, Ashot Ghoulyan emphasized the similarity of the histories and destinies of the Cypriot and Armenian peoples and expressed confidence that the regular meetings provide an opportunity to get to know each other and to make the relations between the cities of the two countries permanent.

Speaking of relations with Cyprus, the Head of parliament said that in the condition of artificial isolation of Artsakh it also turns into a window into Europe. He also expressed hope, that in the face of Cyprus, Artsakh will have a defender of its rights and interests in the European Parliament.

Expressing gratitude for the reception, Mayor of Strovolos Andreas Papakharalampus touched upon the Armenian community in Cyprus and its activities. Stressing the similarity of the historical past of the two peoples, he noted that in order to meet the current challenges the two peoples need to be united. Referring to the Azerbaijani-Karabakh conflict, the mayor expressed hope that it would be resolved peacefully, respecting fundamental human rights and other provisions of international law.

"Be assured that from this moment on we will be ambassadors of the Artsakh struggle not only in Cyprus but also around the world,"Andreas Papakharalampus noted.

The meeting focused on the relations between Artsakh and Cyprus, the prospects of cooperation in the humanitarian sphere, exchange of experience in a wide range of infrastructure development and other issues.

Vice-President of the National Assembly, Chairman of the Republic of Artsakh-European Parliament Friendship Group Vahram Balayan, Chair of the NA Standing Committee on Foreign Relations Arzik Mkhitaryan and Deputy Foreign Minister Felix Khachatryan participated in the meeting.

The delegation then met with members of the friendship group "Republic of Artsakh-European Parliament."

During the meeting the Chairman of the Friendship Group Vahram Balayan introduced the structure of the Republic of Artsakh National Assembly to the guests, spoke about the country's governance system, economic performance and about the army of defense which provides security.

During the meeting with the members of the Friendship Group, interaction at the level of local self-government as well as opportunities for exchange of experience and inclusive cooperation in the fields of culture, education and science were discussed.

The parties emphasized the importance of continuity of cooperation between Artsakh and Cyprus, as well as cooperation between local self-government bodies.