Official Name: Nagorno-Karabakh Republic (NKR) or Republic of Artsakh

Capital City: Stepanakert

Official Language: Armenian

Religion: Christianity

Main Law:    NKR Constitution (adopted at the referendum December 10, 2006)

Day of the Nagorno Karabakh Republic:       September 2, 1991

Day of State Independence Referendum and the Constitution of NKR: December 10, 2006

Currency:     Armenian Dram (AMD), put into circulation since 1993

Population:  150 936  ( as by December 1, 2015)

Ethnicity:      Armenians (95%), Russians, Ukrainians, Greeks, Georgians, Azerbaijanis, Avars, Belarussians etc.

Administrative Division: 7 regions

Area: 12 thousand square km, of which 1041 occupied by Azerbaijan

Geographical Distribution          South Caucasus: in the West is bordered by the Republic of Armenia, in the South – by the Islamic Republic of Iran, in the North and the East – by the Republic of Azerbaijan

Time zone:   GMT+04.00



Mild and temperate. Significant part of the territory has dry subtropical climate.

Average air temperature: +10.9˚C

Average annual precipitation: 587 mm

The average height altitude: 1100 m

The highest mountain peaks:      Gomshasar (3724m), Gzhasar(3616m), Tskhud (3581m), Mrav(3343m), Mets (Big) Kirs(2725m)

Longest Rivers      Araks, Vorotan, Hakari, Tartar, Khachen

Minerals        marble, granite, andesite, tuff, basalt, lime stone, greenstone, clay, pumice, clay, base metals, in particular, zinc, copper pyrites, lead, lithographic stone, coal, pyrites and iron, other metals, water resources



NKR National Flag

NKR State Flag is a rectangular cloth of three horizontal and equal in length stripes of red, blue and orange (from top to bottom). Two white stepped carpet panels on the right side are connected to one third of the flag. The red color symbolizes the ongoing struggle of the Armenian people for the existence of the Christian faith, independence and freedom. Blue color symbolizes the will of the Armenian people to live under a peaceful sky. Orange symbolizes the solidarity and hard work of the Armenian people. The ratio of the flag width to its length is 1: 2.

NKR State Emblem

The State Emblem of the NKR depicts an eagle with extended wings below the parting rays of the sun and the crown of Artashesids dynasty. In the center there is the monument "We are our mountains" on the background of the National Flag of the NKR and the mountain Mets (Big) Kirs. Below, in the claws of the eagle there are grapes, mulberry fruit, and wheat ears. In the upper semicircle there is an inscription in Armenian "The Nagorno Karabakh Republic ─ Artsakh."

NKR National Anthem

NKR National Anthem is the "Hymn to Artsakh."

State Power

According to the 2006 Constitution of the NKR, the Head of State is the President of the Republic, who is elected for a term of five years. One and the same person cannot be elected to the post of President of the Republic for more than two consecutive terms.

President of the Republic observes the Constitution, ensures the normal functioning of the legislative, executive and judicial powers.

President of the Republic is the guarantor of the sovereignty, independence, territorial integrity and security of the Nagorno Karabakh Republic.

The President represents the Republic in international relations, conducts foreign policy. He is the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces, coordinates the activities of the state bodies in the area of defense, appoints and dismisses supreme command of the Armed Forces and other troops.

The President forms the Security Council and chairs it.

The Head of State resolve issues related to the provision of the NKR citizenship and political asylum.

Legislative power in the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic is provided by the National Assembly. National Assembly is a one-chamber representative body, composed of 33 parliamentarians elected for a term of 5 years. 11 deputies are elected by the majority system, and 22 - by proportionate. The bodies of the National Assembly are the NA Chairman, his deputy, parliamentarians and committees.

Regular sessions of the National Assembly are convened twice a year: in September-December and February-June. National Assembly adopts laws, resolutions, appeals and statements.

The current parliament of the 6th convocation has 7 Standing Committees:

  • Standing Committee on Foreign Relations
  • Standing Committee on Production and Manufacturing Infrastructure
  • Standing Committee on Budget, Financial and Economic Management
  • Standing Committee on State and Legal Affairs
  • Standing Committee on Social Affairs and Health
  • Standing Committee on Defense, Security and Law Enforcement
  • Standing Committee on Science, Education, Culture, Youth and Sport

5 Factions:

  • "Motherland"
  • "Democracy"
  • "Dashnaktsutyun"
  • “Movement-88”
  • "Renaissance"

Executive power in the Nagorno-Karabakh is performed by the Government. The Government consists of the Prime minister, Deputy Prime Minister and ministers.

The Government adopts resolutions signed and publicized by the Prime Minister.

President of the Republic appoints the Prime Minister and forms the Government with the consent of the National Assembly.

The current NKR Government is structured as follows:

  • Ministry of Healthcare
  • Ministry of Justice
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs
  • Ministry of Agriculture
  • Ministry of Economy
  • Ministry of Education, Science and Sport
  • Ministry of Culture and Youth Affairs
  • Ministry of Defense
  • Ministry of Urban Planning
  • Ministry of Finance

The following bodies of state management are under the NKR Government:

  • National Security Service
  • Department of Environment and National Resources
  • Police
  • State Services of Emergency Situation

Judicial power in the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic is executed by the courts. NKR operates by a three-tier court system: the trial court of general jurisdiction, the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court is comprised of Constitutional and Appeal courts.

The establishment of emergency courts is prohibited in the country.

Courts in Nagorno Karabakh are independent. NKR Judges are appointed for life and hold office until the age of 65. The powers of judge shall be terminated only in cases stipulated by the Constitution and law.

Administrative division:

NKR includes seven regions and the capital of the republic. There are 10 towns and 322 villages in the NKR. Permanent population the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic amounted to 150 536  people.